Lifelines…

A few minutes ago, I got a text from one of my sons that read, “I’m struggling with giving and having patience today.  Just pray for me.”  I instantly replied to him and asked the Lord to cover him with a refreshed perspective and renewed ability to take things in stride….he reached out.

What an honor as his Mom to be able to know specifically how to pray for my child.  It’s these rare moments that I used to gloss over and seemingly forget about….but as I’ve learned over the past year, it’s these VERY MOMENTS when I need to stop and offer praise and thanks for!  And also experience a teachable moment…FOR ME!

My son has realized that its ok to reach out to a lifeline for help like he did today with a simple text.   I was able to offer him encouragement and  simultaneously speak to the Lord on his behalf.  I can learn a lot from that young man…..

SO OFTEN I  look to MYSELF to find resolution (after I’ve quickly muttered a half-hearted prayer).  There are lifelines who would be honored, like I am, to pray alongside me.  I confess that my pride often doesn’t allow me (nor anyone else) that blessing.  I’m too concerned with exposing my weaknesses to someone and possibly having to admit that I’m not gifted with patience, or that I’m weary, overwhelmed, exhausted, struggling with friendships, battling a negative self-image, fearful that I’ll be alone, disorganized, not good enough, anxious, caught up in status, I’ve yelled at my kids, I’m angry, doubtful …..  There is an ABUNDANCE OF OPPORTUNITIES for me to call out to a lifeline….and confess I’m weak and need prayer.

Yet another significant lesson being sown into my life because I have a son who wasn’t afraid to confess where he’s struggling…..another teachable moment for Mom. 🙂

thankful for these moments – socialcyndi

About socialcyndi

Follower of Jesus | Wife | Mom | Friend .... Sharing my heart one life lesson at a time. View all posts by socialcyndi

Leave a Reply

